Grant County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Grant County

Guide to Grant County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Grant County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 30, 1868
County Seat Silver City
Courthouse
NewMexicoGrantCourthouse.jpg
Address Grant County Courthouse
201 N Cooper St
PO Box 898
Silver City, NM 88062
Phone: 505.538.2979 Grant County Website


Nm-grant.png

County Information

Grant County, New Mexico Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1868 1870 1872 1887

County Courthouse

Grant County Courthouse
201 N Cooper St; PO Box 898;
Silver City, NM 88062
Phone:. 505.538.2979 

County Clerk has marriage records from 1872, probate records from 1884, land records from 1871, and newspapers from 1900; District Court Clerk has divorce Records; Municipal Court has court records.[1]

History

Parent County

  • Up until 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • From 1821 until 1846Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. Starting in 1846 United States forces occupied New Mexico during the Mexican-American War.
  • 1848 -  Part of the land that became Grant County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with ratification of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
  • 1855 -  The Gadsden Purchase of Mexican land was added to Doña Ana County, New Mexico, part of which later became the southern part of Grant County.
  • 1868--Grant County was created 30 January 1868 from Doña Ana County.[1]

Description

Grant County was formed in 1868 from part of Dona Ana County, the county seat is Silver City.[2] The county was named for Ulysses S. Grant, 18th President of the United States.[3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[4]

City
  • Bayard
  • Towns[edit]
  • Hurley
  • Silver City (county seat)
Village
  • Santa Clara
Census-designated places
  • Arenas Valley
  • Buckhorn
  • Cliff
  • Cobre
  • Faywood
  • Gila
  • Hachita
  • Hanover
  • Lake Roberts
  • Lake Roberts Heights
  • Mimbres
  • North Hurley
  • Pinos Altos
  • Rosedale
  • San Lorenzo
  • Trout Valley
  • Tyrone
  • White Signal
Unincorporated communities
  • Dwyer
  • Fort Bayard
  • Mangas Springs
  • Mimbres Valley
  • Mule Creek
  • Redrock
  • Riverside
  • Separ
  • Sherman

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NMGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NMGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
NM Interment
Billion Graves
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 14,813
1920 21,939 48.1%
1930 19,050 −13.2%
1940 20,050 5.2%
1950 21,649 8.0%
1960 18,700 −13.6%
1970 22,030 17.8%
1980 26,204 18.9%
1990 27,676 5.6%
2000 31,002 12.0%
2010 29,514 −4.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Gila
  • Hachita
  • Silver City

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Grant County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps

Nmgrant.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
World War I
World War II

Newspapers


Probate

Online Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Births
Deaths
Marriages

For a comprehensive death index of over 75,000 death records for Grant County, visit Carl W. Scholl Grant County New Mexico Death and Cemetery Records. Sources used to create this index include cemeteries, church records, death certificates (state and local copies), funeral home records, mining records, mortuary records, obituaries, and voter purge records.

Societies and Libraries

Silver City Family History Center
3755 N Swan St.
Silver City, NM.
Telephone: 505-388-1068

Silver City Museum
312 W. Broadway
Silver City, New Mexico, 88061
Telephone: 575-538-5921
Website

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Grant County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://www.grantcountynm.com/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grant_County,_New_Mexico accessed 10/31/2016
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grant_County,_New_Mexico#Communities